Should a WASP paint Dia de Los Muertos Art?

bluefandiptychFirst of all, let me state that I am neither Hispanic nor Latino—pick the term that you find proper. (I live in California, so I’m going with Latino/a.) Despite my decidedly WASP background, I have done considerable research on Dia de los Muertos, and put together this very simple explanation of a holiday rich in history and traditions…

Observed November 2nd, the Day of the Dead is a time to honor deceased loved ones. It is a loving ritual full of joy and remembrance. On this day, many believe that the souls of the departed return to earth to visit with, and to provide counsel to, family and others they loved in life. Although celebrated throughout Latin America, Dia de los Muertos is most strongly associated with Mexico, where the tradition originated.

In Mexico, families often take the opportunity to visit gravesites and pull weeds, clean any debris, and decorate the graves of loved ones. Candles, flowers and the favorite foods of the deceased are placed on the grave and the family visits, eats, sings and tells favorite stories about those who have passed.

In the United States the tradition has been adapted. Many set up altars in their homes and communities often host a variety of events. Altars are usually decorated with flowers (most often marigolds), candles, pan de muerto, ceramic skulls, and pictures of loved ones. Food placed on the altar consists of the loved ones’ favorite dishes and treats. Drinks are placed on the altar to quench the thirst of the dead after their long journey back home.

The rituals used to celebrate the day are varied and colorful, yet all carry the same message—it is a true celebration of life. When children dance with caricatures of death, eat sugar skulls and learn to respect that life is brief, they learn there is a circle to life and that death need not be feared. They are then free to enjoy and appreciate every moment.

How did a “gringa” like me become a Dia de los Muertos artist?

Several years ago I was a partner in the Phantom IV Gallery in Windsor, California. During that time, the town hosted a large Dia de los Muertos Celebration. Local art galleries and businesses were invited to join in. I think it is important to note that Windsor has a large Latino community (mostly Mexican) and the event organizers were all members of that community. In response, Phantom IV featured Mexican art and put up an altar complete with photos and memorabilia of our departed loved ones. My partners and I became deeply moved by the process. People came into the gallery and asked to put photos of loved ones on our altar. A man who had lost his son came, armed with photos, and stayed and talked and talked. Fellow artists were invited to make small 5” X 5” paintings commemorating the holiday, which we hung over the altar. I painted five (three sold immediately) and I was hooked—not because some sold, but because I found the subject matter deeply spiritual and compelling. I grasped what the celebration was about: honoring the circle of life, commemorating the lives of loved ones who were no longer physically present but still very much a part of our lives, learning to live and laugh and love in the face of death.

Once I started painting Dia de los Muertos art I just couldn’t seem to stop. And that is why this “gringa” frequently paints subject matter generally considered to be the prerogative of Mexican artists.

Since that time, my art has been featured in numerous Day of the Dead art shows where most (but not all) of the artists were Latino. None expressed discomfort at my inclusion. Still, with all the concern about being culturally sensitive and correct, I ponder the following question…

Do I have a “right” to paint Dia de los Muertos Art?

I have spent a lot of time researching this question on-line. I’ve read a lot of differing opinions from, “How dare you!” to, “Yes, but be respectful.” Some of the blogs on the subject generated some surprisingly hateful comments. It seems that people have strong opinions on the topic.

https://ayadeleon.wordpress.com/2014/10/31/dear-white-peoplequeridos-gringos-you-want-our-culture-but-you-dont-want-us-stop-colonizing-the-day-of-the-dead/

A few back stories…my ex-husband, who is Jewish, majored in African Studies during the late 60s. It was finally brought to his attention that universities were unlikely to hire him to teach African Studies. The reason is fairly obvious. Another friend majored in Native American Studies and wore her hair in long braids. A fellow student, who was Navajo, finally told her, “Suzanne, no matter how hard you try, you will never be Native American.” She changed majors and stopped wearing braids. So, the moral of these stories is that you can’t become something you’re not, no matter how much you admire the culture. However, I’m not trying to be an expert on Mexican culture, nor am I pretending to be Mexican. I have simply fallen in love with a culture and an art form that is not genetically mine.

Appropriation vs. Assimilation vs. Appreciation

I’ve researched the terms appropriation vs. assimilation vs. appreciation in an attempt to answer my own question—do I have a “right” to paint Dia de los Muertos art. Here’s my understanding of the terms…

  • Cultural appropriation is where the dominant culture takes on elements of a minority culture for their own use. In the process, the original content is reduced, demeaned and/or misunderstood. Think bikini-clad model wearing an Indian headdress.
  • Cultural assimilation is where elements of the majority culture are taken on by the minority culture in an attempt to fit in or survive. This has not always been voluntary—e.g. American Indian boarding schools whose sole purpose was to eradicate one culture and replace it with another.
  • Cultural appreciation is when elements of a culture are used while honoring the source they came from. It is important to note that appreciation involves respect and value.

http://blog.redbubble.com/2014/10/day-of-the-dead-sugar-skull-art/https://stopthecult.wordpress.com/2015/10/13/cultural-appropriation-vs-cultural-assimilation/

There are some diehards who will argue that cultural appreciation is just a sugar-coated form of cultural appropriation. I respect you opinion. Mine differs. I’m an artist. I paint. I write. I find my inspiration in the world around me. Not just my tiny little genetically approved slice of the world. All of it.

Win a Framed Dia de los Muertos Art Print

Write a haiku inspired by “Play Ball”

playball

A Japanese art form speaking to a Mexican art form. Simply send your haiku, inspired by my painting, Play Ball, to artful1@sonic.net. Type “haiku contest” in subject line. I will post the winning poem and send a framed art print to the lucky winner.

Not sure how to write a winning haiku poem. Check out…

http://www.wikihow.com/Sample/Nature-Haiku

6 thoughts on “Should a WASP paint Dia de Los Muertos Art?

  1. kimlthomas

    It has only been a few years since I have been introduced to Dia de Los Muertos art and I find that I am fascinated by the vibrant colors and the history behind it. Honestly, before it was explained to me, I didn’t care for the art at all, but once I looked at it with “new eyes” I really love it. I get excited every time I see it. Thank you for even more insight into this wonderful genre of art.

    Like

    Reply
    1. artbyheck Post author

      Thanks for your comment. I think it’s wonderful that more and more people are getting an deeper understanding about Day of the Dead and the creativity it inspires.

      Like

      Reply
  2. J May

    I really enjoyed reading this post, especially your explanations of the “3 A’s”. I’ve heard these words tossed around in artist statements and most of the time they are not negatively associated words (I’ve even used “appropriation” in a different context before while writing up an artist-statement draft). In regards to culture, these words become sensitive topics and I found it wonderful that you pointed those out to me, as well as your honesty with your polar feelings of distance/closeness to Dia De Los Muertos. I just want to add to your paragraph where you state, “I’m an artist. I paint. I write. I find my inspiration in the world around me. Not just my tiny little genetically approved slice of the world” that there is something different when it comes to art. I feel that human beings naturally respond to their environment: a being that functions has an input and an output, and the output (art) is often a result of some fascination in our subconscious that makes us intrinsically curious about what we create. I would think that it is normal for people to not be able to control their interests, just like we can’t control what foods we simply hate the taste of! I suppose- overall- the best thing you can do is just create artwork because that is your number one passion, thought process, outlet etc., and let other people have their reactions to it, negative or positive (hopefully positive though). 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. ninisweetdream

    Hi Keck!
    By reading your post, I thought on the value of arts and culture and how both enrich individual’s lives. It’s interesting to know how the “Dia de Los Muertos” impacts people’s cultural view. I believe that culture is everywhere. It surrounds us, and artists are free to paint any cultural event to express their talent and imagination. However, there are people who constantly are confronting values and beliefs by using historical arguments that have brought confusion in most immigrants. It is important to acknowledge the varied, complex and sometimes unpredictable context in which arts and culture exist in the United States. The point is that we must understand our human history in order to respect our uniqueness for which we should celebrate, and we should use artwork to show the expression of our common values and community identity. cs7511

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

